top of page
The divine Polyphony.JPG

THE DIVINE POLYPHONY

ODO Ensemble, with Claire Merigoux as artistic director, and in co-production with the National Center for Musical Creation VOCE in Pigna, directed by Jérôme Casalonga, invites 3 artists to explore the repertoires and music of Corsica and Italy, from the Renaissance to the Baroque in a new programme:

 

THE DIVINE POLYPHONY


Following the research carried out by ODO Ensemble with "MESOGEIOS, the song of women in the Mediterranean" and the "Spring of the Italian Renaissance", LA DIVINE POLYPHONIE revisits the sacred and profane repertoire from the Italian peninsula to the island of Corsica.

This program is based on polyphonies, monodies and texts in old Tuscan (lingua crusca), and on vocal practices still alive today.
Encounter between on the one hand the practice of Corsican ornamented singing, full of refinement and subtlety, and on the other the richness of a poetry carried by written music, called scholarly, such as for example the Ars Nova or the Ars Subtilior, with themes like Love or bucolic paintings.
This creation brings two voices face to face: a male voice specializing in interpretation from the oral tradition of Corsican singing, and a female voice sublimating the scholarly Italian vocal repertoire from the 14th to the 18th century.
The viola da gamba will alternately play the role of harmonic and melodic instrument, creating the link between the voices, and that of improvised bass continuo in the polyphony, or even of contrapuntal melody.
Emphasis is placed on the art of ornamentation and improvisation around these often founding themes.
The poetic journey through these two worlds draws its sources both from anonymous authors and from the great authors of the time such as Petrarch, Dante, Boccacio, Landini, Monteverdi... right up to the Polyphonies. He introduces us to villanella, terzetti, canzone, frottole, up to the sacred repertoire of Corsican polyphony from Franciscan manuscripts.

 

Claire Mérigoux - voice

Jérôme Casalonga - voice

Martin Bauer - viola da gamba

bottom of page

LA DIVINE POLYPHONIE

ODO Ensemble, avec Claire Merigoux à la direction artistique, et en co-production avec le Centre National de Création Musicale VOCE de Pigna, direction Jérôme Casalonga, propose à 3 artistes d’explorer les répertoires et les musiques de la Corse et de l’Italie, de la Renaissance au Baroque dans un nouveau programme :

 

LA DIVINE POLYPHONIE


A la suite des recherches menées par ODO Ensemble avec «MESOGEIOS, le chant des femmes en Méditerranée» et le «Printemps de la Renaissance Italienne», LA DIVINE POLYPHONIE revisite le répertoire sacré et profane de la péninsule italienne à l’île Corse.

Ce programme s’appuie sur des polyphonies, monodies et textes en vieux toscan (lingua crusca), et sur des pratiques vocales encore vivantes aujourd’hui.
Rencontre entre d’un côté la pratique du chant ornementé Corse, pleines de raffinement et de subtilité, et de l’autre la richesse d’une poésie portée par des musiques écrites, dites savantes, comme par exemple l’Ars Nova ou l’Ars Subtilior, avec des thèmes comme l’Amour ou des tableaux bucoliques.
Cette création met en vis à vis deux timbres: une voix d’homme spécialiste de l’interprétation issue de la tradition orale du chant corse, et une voix de femme sublimant le répertoire vocal savant italien du XIVème au XVIIIème siècle.
La viole de gambe tiendra tour à tour le rôle d’instrument harmonique et mélodique, créant le lien entre les voix, et celui de basse continue improvisée dans la polyphonie, ou encore de mélodie contrapuntique.
L’accent est mis sur l’art de l’ornementation et de l’improvisation autour de ces thèmes souvent fondateurs.
Le voyage poétique à travers ces deux mondes puise ses sources aussi bien dans des auteurs anonymes que dans les grands auteurs de l’époque comme Pétrarque, Dante, Boccacio, Landini, Monteverdi... jusqu’aux Polyphonies. Il nous fait découvrir villanella, terzetti, canzone, frottole, jusqu’au répertoire sacré de la polyphonie Corse issue des manuscrits franciscains.

 

Claire Mérigoux - voix

Jérôme Casalonga - voix

Martin Bauer - viola da gamba

© ODO Ensemble 2019