top of page

    Following the discovery of the Cluny treasure,

a musical journey on the silk road,

in search of treasures and forgotten melodies...

Claire Merigoux, direction and voice (France)

Jérôme Casalonga, voice, serpignola (Corsica)

Gianni de Gennaro, voice, fiddle,  nay, kaval ( Italy)

Martin Bauer, viola da gamba (France)

Samir Hammouch, qànun (Morocco)

Carlo Rizzo, Percussion, (Italy)

Taghi, Akhbari, voice (Iran)

While in the Middle Ages and until the Renaissance, art music experienced a marked boom, what musical forms and traditions did we hear in the East?

 

What melodies resounded in the palaces of the Persian Empire, known as the cradle of oriental music?

Although this question fascinates researchers and music lovers, it remained unanswered for a long time. Since oriental music is transmitted mainly orally, few written traces of these fascinating melodies are known, only from rare manuscripts, which shed light on very rich musical traditions, which have almost disappeared today.

When we listen to these Eastern melodies, we cannot help but notice its surprising proximity to Western medieval music, in terms of rhythm, orchestration, instrumental configuration, melodic formation. ..

These links and resemblances, like the treasure discovered in Cluny in 2017, testify to the almost permanent artistic relations and exchanges between East and West, through encounters, migratory movements, conflicts, religious inspirations.

The objective of our project and to show this proximity between the music of the East and the West through the reconstruction of the sound traces of a traveling encounter which leaves Cluny to arrive in Isfahan, one of the silk roads.

We bring a unique listening experience by opening a dialogue between experienced musicians and singers, who each and together ensure the reconstruction of part of this journey.  ODO restores the richness of multiple Western musical traditions to the heart of the palaces of the Persian Empire.

A traditional Italian singer from Puglia, a Corsican polyphony singer, an Iranian singer, a French singer of ancient music, a viola da Gamba player, an Italian bowed fiddle player, a Moroccan qanun player specializing in Oriental music, a Italian percussionist...

Our project offers a parenthesis, a blank page to write a story: to research and revisit the artistic heritage and to sound old music to make voices, strings and skins vibrate beyond the past, to highlight these forgotten melodies, real treasures.

A dialogue between the East and the West at a time when the populations of these two worlds need it the most to overcome their current ethnic, religious, political and economic differences, to trust their artistic and cultural proximity which has brought them together since centuries.

The Power of Music leads to openness, to Peace...

                            

 meeting traveler from Cluny to Isfahan

                               PERSEPOLIS

 

bottom of page

A la suite de la découverte du trésor de Cluny,

un voyage musical sur la route de la soie,

à la recherche des trésors et mélodies oubliées...

Claire Merigoux, direction et voix (France)

Jérôme Casalonga, voix, serpignola ( Corse)

Gianni de Gennaro, voix, vièle à archet,  nay, kaval ( Italie)

Martin Bauer, viole de gambe (France)

Samir Hammouch, qànun (Maroc)

Carlo Rizzo, Percussions, (Italie)

Taghi, Akhbari, voix (Iran)

Alors qu'au Moyen-âge et jusqu'à la Renaissance, la musique savante connaissait un essor marquant, quelles formes et traditions musicales entendait-on en Orient ?

 

Quelles mélodies résonnaient dans les palais de l’Empire Perse, connu comme le berceau de la musique orientale ?

Même si cette question fascine les chercheurs et les amateurs de musique, elle restait sans réponse pendant longtemps. La musique orientale se transmettant essentiellement par voie orale, peu de traces écrites de ces mélodies fascinantes sont connues, seulement à partir de rares manuscrits, permettent d’apporter un éclairage sur des traditions musicales très riches, quasiment disparues aujourd’hui.

Lorsque nous écoutons ces mélodie d'Orient, on ne peut s’empêcher de remarquer sa proximité surprenante avec la musique médiévale occidentale, en terme de rythme, d’orchestration, de configuration instrumentale, de formation mélodique...

Ces liens et ressemblances, tout comme le trésor découvert à Cluny en 2017, témoignent des relations et échanges artistiques quasi permanents entre l'Orient et l'Occident, par le biais de rencontres, de mouvements migratoires, de conflits, d'inspirations religieuses.

L’objectif de notre projet et de montrer cette proximité entre les musiques d’Orient et d’Occident à travers la reconstruction des traces sonores d'une rencontre voyageuse qui part de Cluny pour arriver à Ispahan, une des route de la soie.

Nous apportons une expérience d’écoute unique en ouvrant un dialogue entre des musiciens et chanteurs confirmés, qui assurent chacun et ensemble la reconstruction d'une partie de ce parcours.  ODO nous restitue la richesse de multiples traditions musicales occidentales jusqu' au cœur des palais de l’empire Perse.

Un chanteur traditionnel Italien des Pouilles, un chanteur de polyphonie Corse, un chanteur Iranien, une chanteuse Française de musique ancienne, un joueur de viole de Gambe, un joueur de vièle à archet Italien, un joueur qanun Marocain spécialiste de la musique Orientale, une percussionniste Italien...

Notre projet propose une parenthèse, une page blanche pour écrire une histoire: rechercher et revisiter l'héritage artistique et sonner les musiques anciennes pour faire vibrer les voix, les cordes et les peaux au delà du passé, mettre en valeur ces mélodies oubliées, de véritables trésors.

Un dialogue entre l'Orient et l'Occident au moment où les populations de ces deux mondes en ont le plus besoin pour dépasser leurs différences ethniques, religieuses, politiques et économiques actuelles, pour se fier à leur proximité artistique et culturelle qui les rapprochent depuis des siècles.

La Puissance de la Musique conduit à l'ouverture, à la Paix...

                            

 rencontre voyageuse de Cluny à Ispahan

                               PERSEPOLIS

 

© ODO Ensemble 2019