top of page

POLYPHONY

Art Direction Claire Merigoux

 

VOICE

 

Mathilde Daudy, 

Cecile Collardey,

Stella Mérigoux,

Zelia Merigoux,

Carine Pillon, 

Margaux Zubeldia, 

Justyna Borowiecki

Claire Mérigoux

 

ODO Ensemble Claire Merigoux Mystica Voce Polyphony

“While Byzantium and Rome separated in the 11th century, Cluny grew and knew its

apogee; it is nourished by the traditions of the East and the West.

 

Cluny's role in the evolution of Western music was decisive, especially with his second Abbot, Saint ODON, to whom  Musica Enchiriadis, a tenth-century treatise, one of the most old text on   the first structuring of notations and rules for polyphony in Western music echoing the capitals of Cluny, illustrating the 8 tones of music.

 

At the time, Cluny was for the West what Saint Sophia of Constantinople was for the East, both a monumental symbol of Christianity, sublime and extraordinary buildings, an expression of power and influence, of innovation as excess.

MYSTICA VOCE plunges today into the roots of mysticism.

 

Through voice and polyphony, ODO Ensemble, which takes its name from ODON, offers a journey beyond cultures, beyond History.

 

Two worlds, two expressions, Latin and Byzantine meet. By crossing them, ODO Ensemble wants to taste their genius. Reminding us that they have the same source of inspiration, the same function and carry the same message.

An adventure in space and time, through a dialogue between the Sacred Oriental repertoire

and Western, MYSTICA VOCE borrows in turn Aramaic, Georgian, Greek, Corsican songs, from Brittany and medieval Spain and from the Pyrenees... where the practice of polyphony was developed and is still anchored and alive today. These songs, most often transmitted orally, are closely linked to popular traditions and provide a community and social function in connection with spirituality and religions on the one hand, but also with nature, death, life and love. ..

MYSTICA VOCE by the voices, seeks and experiments in its interpretation, the availability of the present moment, in search of a sound, an ephemeral instant, a bodily crossing of the Breath and which comes to caress the soul, transports us and questions us about the importance of

transmission and on the dimension of Kairos, the Divine and the Sacred.

ODO Ensemble invites us to live a sensory and inner journey, connecting us through the depth of our roots to our DNA which weaves a web, a link to more or less distant ancestors, that of the singers who carry within them their own history, mixed with that of civilizations and connecting us to the sky by the harmonics which densify space and which make us feel humanity and infinity.

This is the mystery of Polyphony, the plenitude between memories and dreams... »

 

Claire Merigoux, 2022

ODO Ensemble Claire Merigoux Mystica Voce Polyphony
ODO Ensemble Claire Merigoux - Mystica Voce Polyphony
ODO Ensemble Claire Merigoux Mystica Voce Polyphony
bottom of page

top of page

POLYPHONIE

Direction Artistique Claire Merigoux

 

VOIX

 

Mathilde Daudy, 

Cécile Collardey,

Stella Merigoux,

Zélia Merigoux,

Carine Pillon, 

Margaux Zubeldia, 

Justyna Borowiecki

Claire Merigoux

 

« Tandis que Byzance et Rome se séparent au XIème siècle, Cluny va grandir et connaitre son

apogée ; elle se nourrit des traditions de l’Orient et de l’Occident.

 

Le rôle de Cluny dans l'évolution de la musique occidentale fut déterminant, notamment avec son second Abbé, Saint ODON, à qui l’on attribuerait  Musica Enchiriadis, un traité du Xème siècle, un des plus ancien texte sur  les premières structurations de notations et de règles pour la polyphonie dans la musique occidentale en écho aux chapiteaux de Cluny, illustrant les 8 tons de la musique.

 

A l’époque, Cluny a été pour l'Occident ce que Sainte Sophie de Constantinople a été pour l'Orient, à la fois symbole monumental de la Chrétienté, bâtiments sublimes et hors normes, expression de pouvoir et d’influence, d’innovation comme de démesure.

MYSTICA VOCE plonge aujourd'hui, aux racines de la mystique.

 

Par la voix et la polyphonie, ODO Ensemble, qui tire son nom de ODON, propose un voyage au-delà des cultures, au-delà de l'Histoire.

 

Deux mondes, deux expressions, latines et byzantines se rencontrent. En les traversant, ODO Ensemble veut goûter à leur génie. Nous rappelant qu'elles ont la même source d’inspiration, la même fonction et portent le même message.

Une aventure dans l’espace et dans le temps, par un dialogue entre le répertoire Sacré Oriental

et Occidental, MYSTICA VOCE emprunte tour à tour les chants Araméens, Géorgiens, Grecques, Corses, de Bretagne et Espagne médiévale et des Pyrénées... là où la pratique de la polyphonie fut développée et est toujours ancrée et vivante aujourd’hui. Ces chants transmis le plus souvent par oral sont étroitement liés aux traditions populaires et assurent une fonction communautaire et sociale en lien avec la spiritualité et les religions d’une part, mais aussi avec la nature, la mort, la vie, l’Amour...

MYSTICA VOCE par les voix, cherche et expérimente dans son interprétation, la disponibilité de l’instant présent, à la recherche d’un son, d’un instant éphémère, d’une traversée corporelle du Souffle et qui vient caresser l’âme, nous transporte et nous questionne sur l’importance de la

transmission et sur la dimension du Kairos, du Divin et du Sacré.

ODO Ensemble nous invite à vivre un voyage sensoriel et intérieur, nous reliant par la profondeur des racines à notre ADN qui tisse une toile, un lien aux ancêtres plus ou moins lointains, celui des chanteuses qui portent en elles leur propre histoire, mêlée à celle des civilisations et nous reliant au ciel par les harmoniques qui densifient l’espace et qui nous font sentir l’humanité et l’infini.

C’est le mystère de la Polyphonie, la plénitude entre souvenirs et rêves... »

 

Claire Merigoux, 2022

bottom of page